USA Stun Gun Laws

John Nguyen37 comments

What is a stun gun?

A stun gun is a small handheld device that discharges an electric shock to any potential threat or attacker as a form of self defense. The electric voltage will not cause permanent bodily damage but immobilize to provide enough time to escape.

This occurs by sending voltage through the muscles when in direct contact, causing the individual to not be unable to control their movement.

It is a small device that is easy to carry in your pocket, purse, or even in your car. We carry a large selection of stun guns you can find here.

This section will answer some questions and concerns you have owning a stun gun.

What states stun guns illegal?

As of right now, the following states are illegal to own or posses a stun gun: Hawaii, Rhode Island, and U.S. Virgin Islands.

Who can buy a stun gun?

Assuming you live in a location where stun guns are legal, only a few simple restrictions to purchasing this self-defense tool is:

  • You must be at least 18 years old and older
  • Stun guns are only used for self-defense


Assuming you live where stun guns are legal, there are only a few basic restrictions to buying this self-defense tool.

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • Stun guns are only for self-defense

Furthermore, in most states where stun guns are legal, you do not need to have a permit, undergo any training, or need to conceal while you carry it.

Stun guns come in many different shapes and sizes. Some can resemble a flashlight, pen, or a simple accessory. 

So what are you waiting for?



Read more →